Gustafsson & Skrondal visiting scholarship

The Centre for Educational Measurement at the University of Oslo (CEMO) invites applicants for the Gustafsson & Skrondal Visiting Scholarship. The visiting scholar program hosts young researchers from Norway and abroad each year to engage in collaborative research and to participate in and enrich the research community at CEMO and the University of Oslo. All Gustafsson & Skrondal Scholars are expected to embody the principles of sound scientific inquiry and intellectual vibrancy of this namesake.

Jan-Eric Gustafsson.
Photo: Øystein Andresen / UiO

Jan-Eric Gustafsson is Professor of Education at University of Gothenburg, Sweden. Professor Gustafsson’s tireless dedication was instrumental to the development and early success of CEMO, where he served as interim director. He is a pioneering researcher in international large-scale assessment, with a rich scholarship in educational research and quantitative methods. Professor Gustafsson received an honorary doctorate from the University of Oslo in 2017.

Anders Skrondal.
Photo: Folkehelseinstituttet / UiO

Anders Skrondal is Senior Scientist at the Division of Epidemiology, Norwegian Institute of Public Health, and Adjunct Professor at the University of California at Berkeley. Professor Skrondal is well known internationally for his work related to the development of the Generalized Linear Latent Mixed Model (GLLAMM) framework and associated software and as the 2016-2017 president of the Psychometric Society. Professor Skrondal has provided substantial intellectual support to CEMO and continues his vital role as Professor II at CEMO.

Applicants should hold or be qualified to hold university posts or similar; however, we welcome applicants from other areas, including intergovernmental and non-profit organizations. Scholars should generally hold a PhD or equivalent. Applications will be evaluated according to their match with CEMO’s research specializations, as well as on their research quality and plans for the stay at CEMO. Please contact the CEMO team member(s) you would like to work with prior to sending in your application and inquire about possibilities to collaborate. Visiting scholars are expected to be in residence during their term, the duration of which should be around six months (at least three, at most nine months). Each scholar is expected to give presentations during their term on their research and to showcase the results of his or her stay at CEMO.

We will cover the travelling and housing costs related to a Gustafsson & Skrondal scholar's stay at CEMO. You will in addition receive office space for free, access to appropriate technical equipment and the university library as well as free access to courses provided by CEMO. Under the special circumstance that no own salary is available for the Visiting Scholarship, we may be able to provide compensation in this respect, too. Each scholar is responsible for securing their own visa, if required; however, we can provide administrative assistance with the process. We also provide assistance with finding housing and all formalities connected to moving to another country.

Candidate visiting scholars should submit the following:

  • CV
  • A two-page personal statement that includes
    • a description of the project that you intend to work on during your stay
    • the expected outcome of your scholarship stay at CEMO
    • the name of CEMO team member(s) with whom you plan to work with and how your proposal connects to their expertise. Please contact the CEMO team member(s) prior to sending in your application and inquire about possibilities to collaborate. Preference will be given to applicants with shared interests with more than one CEMO team member
    • the expected contribution to CEMO
    • proposed start and end dates
  • Names and contact information for two professional references, one of whom can possibly be a CEMO team member

Next application deadline is 31st July 2022.

Previous Gustafsson-Skrondal scholars include:


  • Tim Hagen Fütterer
  • Isa Steinmann
  • Tyler Matta
  • Sebastian Born
  • Rolf Strietholt 
  • Jesper Tijmstra
  • Janine Buchholz
  • Chen Wei Liu

Application form


Published Apr. 7, 2017 11:27 AM - Last modified Mar. 31, 2022 8:34 AM